top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturearoscoe7

Bitter Coffee

I drank my coffee black this morning. I skipped out on the dry milk and brown sugar. I wanted to taste something bitter this morning because I woke up to the sweetness of pink casted mountains at sunrise. And I wanted something strong this morning because I get to hear the perfect softness of boots hiking on dirt for miles this morning. And I wanted something that will make a person wince this morning because my cheeks are sore from laughing over lunch. And I left the jagged loose grounds this morning because I got into the smoothest rhythm with the crosscut saw this afternoon. And I wanted to look into something dark this morning because I sat by the crystal clear lake and watched the frogs warp the scenic reflections this evening. And I wanted something hot this morning because I will write a letter or maybe a poem to a friend in the cool and stagnant air tonight. And tonight I will tell my friends I love them and goodnight. I will close my eyes knowing that this simple little life here is sweet and where warm bitter coffee is humbling. So, I will dream up a life where the coffee never needs to be sweet and there is always dirt on my feet.

Sonia

Juliet Crew

RMYC '22



bottom of page