top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturearoscoe7

Echo's extravagant start to the season

Pulling! Did you hear that crackle? I'm about halfway through. Should we put a wedge in? Over my first week at RMYC these phrases have become common place as out crew trews the Gore Range trail, clearing the path of fallen trees with our cross cut saws. When I joined RMYC I didn't think Id be dancing but each cleared tree comes from a delicate dance between two crew members as they move together to the saw of the cross cut saw gliding through wood. On our first day, my cross cut partner and I joked that we had good " saw chemistry' as we energetically and quickly, cleared fallen trees. That initial energy dwindled as my muscles ached and fatigued. When you're out on the trail, you find what you can to keep yourself going and the echos of laughter comes from my crew mantra kept my head high and spirits lifted as we pressed on. My first week at RMYC reassured me to why I joined this season. I joined Rocky Mountain Youth Corps to challenge myself, discover and meet new people. In only a week, strangers have become people I laugh uncontrollably with, people who encourage me, people I can ask for help from, and people I wholeheartedly trust. I'm excited to see what next week on the Gore trail holds. I'm sure we'll be saying the same phrases as we cross cut. But with a deeper understanding and appreciation for each other as we continue to learn to dance together.

Renee Jorgensn


bottom of page