top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturearoscoe7

First Summer with RMYC

Before arriving at RMYC, I was excited to spend my whole summer outside exploring places I have never been to. I have been granted just that. Work can be difficult, but is very rewarding once you're done. For example, this Wednesday we hiked 14 miles crosscutting the Wyoming Encampment River Trail. The elevations we had to climb were extreme compared to what I'm used to, but it was a great challenge to overcome. I have also learned that I really enjoy the art of cross-cutting. It has been great working with several of my crew members to operate the saws and clear the pathways of the trails. A huge plus to the RMYC experience is you get to disconnect from your phones and learn about the environment, while never leaving the outdoors. I've lived in New York my whole life and being able to experience a much different area while learning so much makes me grateful that I chose to work for RMYC this summer. I am excited for more adventures to come.

Connor Malon

Iguana Crew

RMYC '22


bottom of page