top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturearoscoe7

Gratitude for My Crew

Emma Griffith, Crew Oscar

7/8/23


This past week was our second in Foxpark, WY. After a weekend spent at Rocky Mountain National Park, we were reluctant to head back to our buggy, isolated campsite. However once the week started, we got back to felling trees at the worksite and we were reminded why we camp in such odd and remote places. The reward you get from taking down a big tree is always unmatched. As a women’s crew there is an additional sense of empowerment you get from succeeding in a “man’s” field. My crewmates and I had many conversations this past week about how much we have learned about sawing, and how much we still have yet to learn. Personally I feel very accomplished looking back to the beginning when I was scared to even hold a saw, to where I am now: cutting trees big and small with confidence and proper technique. Our supervisor through the Forest Service, Chis Green, came to visit our crew later on this week as well. It was amazing to see what such an experienced sawyer can do as if it was second nature. It reminded me that there is so much about sawing that I don’t even know yet, but want to learn. I am super grateful to be part of a saw crew, and especially the women’s saw crew because there is nothing better than chainsawing alongside the coolest and most badass people I know.



bottom of page