top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturearoscoe7

Life Lessons from Crew Jupiter

Jenna Gluck, Crew Jupiter

6/28/23


I’ve learned a lot this first month with RMYC. I learned how to use a chainsaw and how to fell trees. I learned the names of cool tools like pick-mattock. I’ve learned a lot about my fellow crew members. Their lives, aspirations. I’ve learned the lyrics to “Drops of Jupiter” by Train, and that screaming the lyrics to that song helps you hold a plank longer. I’ve learned that pooping in the woods isn’t as bad as it seems (except when mosquitoes are attacking you). I learned how to tie cool knots and how to set up a great outdoor kitchen. I’ve learned to live with the filth that comes with only a weekly shower. I learned to ensure your tent door is shut during a thunder and hail storm at midnight in the middle of grasslands (or else everything you own will be soaked and you will have to sleep in the van…theoretically). I’ve learned to be grateful for chilly mornings and the hot afternoon sun. But most of all, I’ve learned that Monopoly Deal is the best game to ever exist and it will heal all.




bottom of page