top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturearoscoe7

New York to Colorado

Before arriving at RMYC, I was excited to spend my whole summer outside exploring places I have never been. I have been granted just that. Work can be difficult, but is very rewarding once you're done. For example, this Wednesday we hiked 14 miles cross-cutting the Wyoming Encampment River trail. The elevations we had to climb were extreme compared to what I am used to but was a great challenge to overcome. I have also learned that I really enjoy the art of cross cutting. It had been great working with several of my crew members to operate the saws and clear the pathways of the trails. A huge plus to the MRYC experience is you get o to disconnect from your phones and learn about the environment, while never leaving the outdoors. I've lived in New York my whole life and being able to experience a much different area while learning so much makes me very grateful that I chose to work for RMYC this summer. I am excited for more adventures to come!


bottom of page