top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturearoscoe7

Observations on our planet

dear World,

Hi! I’m Mik, a girl from the rolling Appalachian hills of Ohio who has been traveling about you for some 21+ years now. To be quite honest, one of my longest fears about you, the world; our planet Earth, is that we may one day lose you. The desire to make this planet a better place is why I’m here doing conservation for a second season and plan on doing much more.

Something else you should know about me is that the mountains are where I feel most at home and at peace. I am never ceased to be amazed by the power and beauty of tree and snow covered peaks which is a big part of why I chose Rocky Mountain Youth Corps: doing the work I love in a place I love. I haven’t truly been able to come back to Colorado since living in Colorado Springs when I was young and it feels so good to be here.

I am so excited for my summer full of adventures across the state. I get to learn a really, really cool new skill (chainsaw work), have already met so many great people and have an even better team by my side. Although each day comes with a new challenge, I know myself and everyone here at RMYC will do what it takes to protect our planet and help our communities.

Keep adventuring,

Mik Schyler


bottom of page