top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturearoscoe7

Why Wyoming is Wonderful

Noah Goldwasser, Crew Alpha

6/18/23



When I found out my crew was heading to Wyoming I couldn’t contain my excitement. I jumped around our campground, my head filled with images of cowboys, rugged mountains, fresh creeks, and open sky. I think I was too excited because when we piled into our van I was soon confronted with intense GI discomfort (which I blame on the Safeway coffee I had earlier). Anyway, I was not only shifting in my seat out of anticipation but also because of my stomach. As an escape, I slept for most of the van ride until someone in my crew yelled, “We’re in Wyoming!” I awoke, frustrated that I didn’t even get to see the state boundary. I was fully grumpy. But then, in an ultimate example of empathy, my crew leaders pulled over and presented me with a homemade sign that read: “Noah’s First Wyoming”. I was so happy that I tooted on my way out of the van, and my crew snapped a photo of me with the awesome sign. I looked around and saw exactly what I had imagined: rolling hills and endless space. But more importantly I saw around me my crew, and how lovely each and every one of them are. I was filled with gratitude for all of them and to be part of Alpha crew. That week we worked on cleaning and rebuilding campsites in the Medicine-Bow National Forest, all the while we got to know each other and the area around us better. As we go throughout the season I will always remember My First Wyoming and the crew that made it possible.



bottom of page